Learn More About Friends of 88.5 FM

What is Friends of 88.5 FM?

Friends of 88.5 FM is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization governed by an independent Board of Directors. Friends of 88.5 FM is responsible for all governance including fiscal oversight, FCC compliance and policy decisions of the Save KPLU campaign.
The board has no authority over music programming, news coverage, or day-to-day operational decisions.

Board of Directors

Joey Cohn

Joey Cohn, General Manager/CEO — Joey has been a jazz fan for many years, dating back to when he was an on-air jazz host at KUAT radio while attending the University of Arizona in Tucson. Later in his broadcast career, Joey worked within commercial media in such roles as radio rock DJ, as well as music host for a nationally syndicated TV show on the Music Channel. In 1987, Joey joined the KPLU/Jazz24 team as Morning Jazz Host and Music Director. He has since held various positions at KPLU/ Jazz24, including New Media Director and Marketing Director. Throughout his time at the station, he has worked to expand KPLU/ Jazz24 programming and audience growth to award-winning heights, most recently as the Assistant General Manager and Director of Content. Under Joey’s leadership, KPLU/Jazz24 has won numerous national accolades including the Edward R. Murrow for news and the Marconi, for Jazz Station of the Year. Joey has also done consulting for NPR and other public radio stations around the U.S.



Stephen Tan, President — Stephen is a partner at Cascadia Law Group, a regional environmental law firm, where his practice focuses on environmental litigation. He chaired KPLU’s Community Advisory Council from 2013 to 2016. Stephen also serves on the boards of the National Audubon Society, Braided River, and the Washington Trails Association, and on the Advisory Board of KCTS 9 Public Television.



Claire Grace, Vice President & Secretary — Claire is a former corporate secretary, assistant general counsel and vice-president for the Weyerhaeuser Company. She retired from Weyerhaeuser in 2013. She was also vice president and associate counsel at Washington Mutual Bank. Claire serves on the board of the State of Washington Higher Education Facilities Authority and the Seattle Repertory Jazz Orchestra.



Keith Seinfeld, Director — Keith is a communications specialist for Public Health — Seattle & King County. Previously, during a 20-year journalism career, he became a familiar voice to KPLU listeners as a reporter on the KPLU news team, covering the environment and science & health beats. He also served as KPLU’s Assistant News Director. In 2007, he was awarded a prestigious one-year Knight Science Journalism Fellowship at MIT.



Gayle McIntosh, Director — Gayle is the Executive Director of Communications for the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma. She’s held that position since 2003. Before arriving at Puget Sound, she served as the Director of Communications for KCTS 9 in Seattle. She was also the Manager of Foundation Relations for KETC-TV in St. Louis, and before that the Creative Services Manager for the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra.



Scott Ahlsmith, Director — Scott is an IT consultant for True Blue, Inc. in Tacoma. His 45-year career encompasses systems integration, information analytics, CRM, and software development management. Additionally, as an entrepreneur he founded and sold start-ups that drove innovation in their respective business sectors. He authored “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to the Perfect Vacation” and hosted a travel segment on Voice of America radio promoting tourism to the U.S. He currently serves on board of directors for a not-for-profit organization that certifies travel professionals, as well as a travel industry start-up that hold patents to improve geo-tagging accuracy for the hospitality and events industry.


John Teutsch Photo-2012

John Teutsch, Director — John is a Seattle-based developer and real estate investor with over thirty years in the Pacific Northwest. Through his firm, Teutsch Partners, John has been the managing general partner in the acquisition, development, leasing, and management of a wide variety of award-winning mixed-use and single- purpose projects, including office, biotech, medical office, industrial/warehouse distribution, apartments, retirement communities and marinas. John’s professional and community affiliations include: President, NAIOP Washington State Chapter 2016-2017; LAW Fund, Board of Directors; Pacific Real Estate Institute, Past President & Board Member; Member Washington State and Texas State Bar Associations. John earned degrees in accounting and law from the University of Texas and a Masters in Environmental Science from Rice University.


David Veterane, Director — David is a Chartered Financial Analysist (CFA) and is the founding partner of Rainier Investment Management, from which he retired in 2003. He is the founder and current director of The Kossoye Development Project, which works to improve community health in northwestern Ethiopia through gardening education. David also serves on the board of directors of the Harrison Medical Center Foundation. He previously served for twelve years on the board of directors of the Harrison Medical Center Board and 25 years as a probation officer for the Kitsap Court Juvenile Diversion Program. David earned a B.A in Finance and Accounting from University of Washington.

Mayor Strickland head shot

Marilyn Strickland, Director – Marilyn was sworn in as Mayor of Tacoma in January 2010, and previously served as a city council member. Born in Seoul, Marilyn is a graduate of the University of Washington and holds a master’s degree in business administration from Clark-Atlanta University. She and her husband Patrick Erwin live in the downtown neighborhood. As Mayor, Marilyn’s pro-growth agenda focuses on creating family-wage jobs by improving education and workforce training, promoting entrepreneurship, investing in transportation and attracting international investment. Prior to elected office, she worked in both the private and public sectors. Her regional and national board leadership includes Sound Transit, the U.S. Conference of Mayors and the Democratic Mayors Association. Marilyn has appeared on Meet the Press, National Public Radio and is a trustee with the Urban Land Institute. She has been recognized by the National League of Cities Women in Municipal Government for outstanding local leadership and was recognized as the 2015 Washington Trade Hero by the Washington Council on International Trade.


Community Advisory Council

  • E. (Peg) Achterman
  • Michael Armstrong
  • Donald G. Arsenault, CCIM
  • Jim Burbidge
  • Nancy Carson
  • Rudy Castillo
  • John W. Comerford
  • Greg Dallaire
  • David Deacon-Joyner
  • Dave Ellgen
  • Linda Farmer
  • Alex Fryer
  • Bob Hirsch
  • Stacey Isaacs
  • Henry Izumizaki
  • Jeanne Juneau (JJ)
  • Jim Long
  • Robert Lovely
  • Carol MacKinnon
  • Lloyd Mildon
  • Brian Pearson
  • Lyn Quitslund
  • Cary Retlin
  • Shawn Richardson
  • D T Rosenoff
  • Elizabeth Schoenfeld
  • Fred Seidel
  • David Sturtevant
  • Paul Taylor
  • Joan Tornow
  • John Woltjer